Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Coding > Ultimate Basic Extension for the C64
2012-04-17 23:15
doctorfargo

Ultimate Basic Extension for the C64

I’ve been dreaming about the ultimate basic extension for the C64 for a few years.

There was many basic extensions for the C64 made in the 80’s – but there are a few problems with them

• No support for newer hardware like the 1581, mice, etc
• No support for newer routines and things like fast loaders, tracker music, IFLI graphics, etc
• Take up too much memory – leaving little free Basic space for your code
• Some do not feature run time modules - so you need the basic extension cart or disk to run your program

So here is my idea… Create a new basic extension for the C64 that would be the ultimate Basic Extension. The thing about basic extensions is that they may have lot of new commands – but each command takes up precious memory space. So here is my idea – would it be possible to create a library of new commands and then come up with a way for the programmer to choose which commands that he wants to use for his program? For example, if I am designing a game that will be on the text screen – I don’t need 30+ graphic mode commands such as circle, line, fill, etc to be in memory – since I’m not using the graphic mode in the first place. By just having the commands that I need – I could save RAM space – and that would give me more space to use for my BASIC program.